Guide: Cebu City downgraded to Alert Level 1 until March 31

Good news for Cebu City residents!

On Tuesday, the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) listed Cebu City under the less restrictive Alert Level 1 from March 16 to March 31, 2022.

The Cebu City Government has yet to issue a new Executive Order but below are some of the guidelines set by the national government for areas under Alert Level 1:

  • No restrictions for indoor and outdoor capacities. Everyone can undertake intrazonal and interzonal travel without regard to age and even comorbidities.
  • Public transportation shall be at full seating capacity.
  • For aviation, maritime and rail public transport operating in and out of Alert Levels 1 areas, the passenger capacity will be at 100 percent.
  • All establishments, persons, or activities are likewise allowed to operate, work, or be undertaken at total on-site or venue seating capacity, provided these are consistent with minimum public health standards.
  • Agencies and instrumentalities of the government shall likewise adhere to 100 percent on-site workforce. 
  • On contact tracing, the use of health declaration forms/paper-based contact tracing shall not be required for all the agencies and establishments under Alert Level 1.
  • Establishments are no longer required to set-up isolation facilities within the workplace.
  • Individuals 18 years old and above will be required to present proof of full vaccination before participating in mass gatherings or entry into indoor establishments, such as but not limited to:
    • In-person religious gatherings; gatherings for necrological services, wakes, inurnment and funerals for those who died of causes other than Covid-19 and for the cremains of the Covid-19 deceased;
    • All indoor dine-in services of food preparation establishments such as kiosks, commissaries, restaurants and eateries. For outdoor or al fresco dining and take out channels, no proof of full vaccination is required;
    • All indoor personal care establishments such as barbershops, hair spas, hair salons, and nail spas, and those offering aesthetic/cosmetic services or procedures, make-up services, salons, spas, reflexology and other similar procedures including home service options;
    • Fitness studios, gyms and venues for exercise and sports;
    • All indoor cinemas or movie houses operating at full capacity;
    • Meetings, incentives, conferences, exhibition events and permitted venues for social events such as parties, wedding receptions, engagement parties, wedding anniversaries, debut and birthday parties, family reunions, and bridal or baby showers;
    • Venues with live voice or wind-instrument performers and audiences such as in karaoke bars, clubs, concert halls and theaters;
    • Indoor ancillary establishments in hotels and other accommodation establishments; and
    • Venues for election-related events.
  • Children ages 17 and below shall not be required to present proof of vaccination status.

Meanwhile, face-to-face classes for primary education shall be subject to prior approval of the Office of the President.

The IATF also noted that “well-fitted face masks shall be worn properly at all times, whether outdoors or in indoor private or public establishments.”

Other areas placed under Alert Level 1 are the following:

  • Metro Manila
  • Cordillera Administrative Region
    • Abra
    • Apayao
    • Baguio City
    • Kalinga
  • Region I
    • Dagupan City
    • Ilocos Norte
    • Ilocos Sur
    • La Union
    • Pangasinan
  • Region II
    • Batanes
    • Cagayan
    • City of Santiago
    • Isabela
    • Quirino
  • Region III
    • Angeles City
    • Aurora
    • Bataan
    • Bulacan
    • Nueva Ecija
    • Olongapo City
    • Pampanga
    • Tarlac
    • Zambales
  • Region IV-A
    • Batangas
    • Cavite
    • Laguna
    • Lucena City
  • Region IV-B
    • Marinduque
    • Puerto Princesa City
    • Romblon
  • Region V
    • Naga City
    • Catanduanes
  • Region VI
    • Aklan
    • Bacolod City
    • Capiz
    • Guimaras
    • Iloilo City
  • Region VII
    • Cebu City
    • Siquijor
  • Region VIII
    • Biliran
    • Ormoc City
    • Tacloban City
  • Region IX
    • Zamboanga City
  • Region X
    • Cagayan de Oro City
    • Camiguin
  • Region XI
    • Davao City
    • Butuan City

Areas not mentioned — including Cebu Province, Mandaue City, and Lapu-Lapu City — will still be under Alert Level 2 from March 16 to 31.

Also read

Ram Mancelita
Ram Mancelita
"Experiencing Cebu one post at a time."

Editor | Cebu City

[email protected]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Top Stories