Cebu Province sets Enhanced Community Quarantine Exemptions & LGU Assistance

The Province of Cebu will be under the Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) starting on 12:01AM of Monday, March 30, 2020.

With this, Gov. Gwen Garcia will issue an Executive Order that shall contain the ECQ exemptions.

 Services to be included in the ECQ exemptions:

  • Groceries, Markets and Supermarkets
  • Medical-related establishments, pharmacies, and drugstores.
  • Funeral services including immediate family of the deceased,
  • Security services
  • Banks, Money transfer services
  • Food chains but limited to take-out and drive-thru services,
  • Delivery personnel (basic goods and commodities)

Companies & Personnel to be included in the ECQ exemptions:

  • Manufacturing companies that is involved in producing food, water, medicines, hygienic products such as tissue, alcohol, sanitizer and wipes, medical products and personal protective equipment (PPEs) like face masks and gloves
  • Mass media and telecommunications companies and its personnel
  • Energy companies from generator to transmission and distribution
  • Government employees and government officials
  • Agricultural workers and agribusiness personnel
  • Fishermen, and slaughterhouse personnel
  • Business process outsourcing and export-oriented companies and its personnel

There will also be an EO regarding the prioritization of assistance.

“We have to reserve assistance for the poor and the helpless. Dili ingon nga abi kay lockdown tagaan tanan. Usa ra ba nas misimpression anang lockdown”

– Cebu Gov. Gwen Garcia

“But we will never have enough so unahon nato ang displaced workers ug kadtong klarong indigents. Dili kay hasta nang namungingi sa alahas moapil og pangayo og five-kilos rice (referring to the A and B social classes),”

Provincial disaster funds will be based on population and the municipal and city classes. 

Financial assistance computation:

  • Cities
    • First to Third-Classes component cities: P50 per person 
    • Fourth to Sixth-Classes component cities:  P100 per person
    • Example: Talisay City, which has a recorded population of 227,645, will receive P10 million.
  • Municipalities
    • First-class municipalities: P100 per person
    • Second- and third-classes: P150 per person
    • Fourth- and fifth-classes: P200 per person
    • Examples:
      • Alcantara is a fifth-class municipality with a population of 15,160. This means it will get P3 million.
      • Sibonga, a second-class municipality with a population of 48,186, will receive P7.2 million.

Also read

Marel Baluyos
Marel Baluyos
"Cebu is my always."

Chemical Engineer / Associate Editor | Bantayan Island, Cebu

For advertising inquiries, kindly directly email at [email protected].


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Top Stories