Cebu City now placed under ‘Modified ECQ’ until May 31

Cebu City, along with Metro Manila and the Laguna province, will be placed under “modified” enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) from May 16 to May 31, 2020 as announced by Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque earlier today, May 12.

Other areas in the country were either placed under general community quarantine (GCQ) while others were lifted, without sacrificing health measures. 

“Obviously pinakinggan natin ang siyensiya kaya nga po modified ECQ tayo. Naka-ECQ pa rin po tayo, bagamat bubuksan natin ang mas marami pang mga sektor ng ating ekonomiya. But we continue to be in ECQ because of the continuing threat,”

– Presidential SpokespersonHarry Roque

Roque explained that modified ECQ will serve as a “transition phase” from a strict ECQ to a relaxed general community quarantine. There will be limited transport services for essential goods and services, while physical classes will remain suspended.

Under the ‘MODIFIED Enhanced Community Quarantine’:

  • Limited movement within the zone for obtaining services and work
  • Maximum of 50% operations of selected industries will be allowed
  • Limited transportation for essential goods and services
  • Limited transportation for those going to work and for essential services
  • Suspension of physical classes in all levels

Roque said the list of allowed industries under MECQ would be announced in another press briefing either late Tuesday or on Wednesday.

Update (May 15, 2020):

Cebu City Mayor Edgar Labella has officially issued and signed a new Executive Order following the IATF declaration that Cebu City will be placed under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) starting on May 16 until May 31, 2020.

General Guidelines from the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF):

Also read

Ram Mancelita
Ram Mancelita
"Experiencing Cebu one post at a time."

Editor | Cebu City

[email protected]



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Top Stories